The department offers training for trainee teachers in educational administration and planning, economics of education and curriculum studies. The department also houses the department of educational foundations whose areas of specialization are Philosophy of Education, History of Education, sociology of Education and Comparative education.

The progammes offered in the department include Doctor of Philosophy in Education (Educational Administration, Educational Planning, Curriculum Studies and Economics of Education), Master of Education (Educational Administration, Educational Planning, Curriculum Development and Economics of Education), and Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE), Bachelor of Education Degree Programmes and Diploma in Education. The teaching staff in the department include three senior lecturers and three assistant lecturers.

There is also one administrative assistant. The department works closely with other departments within the school and the university to meet the core business of the school which is to provide high quality teacher training and research for the benefit of the country.

The department endeavors to produce high quality teachers and educational managers who will drive Kenya towards the realization of the Vision 2030 and the Sustainable development Goals. The programs offered in the department are very popular with practicing teachers and educational managers. The programs are offered through regular, part-time/institution based, evening and weekend modes.